Northfield entrance with tree.bmp

The Village is a home-rule municipality governed by a President and six Trustees, also known as the Village Board, elected at large for four-year terms.  The President serves as the chief elected official and presides at all Village Board meetings and ceremonial occasions.  The President also appoints non-elected Village officials with the approval of the Village Board.  
The Village Board formulates policy and enacts local laws, usually in the form of resolutions and ordinances. The Village Board is directly responsible to the citizens of Northfield. The Village has six specialized departments that serve the resident and business community daily.
Every June, the Village is required by state statute to ascertain the prevailing rate of wages and publicly post those rates.  The current rates are available here.

See these documents for more information about the Village's governance: